Types of Passport in India with Color

Passport is issued to an Indian citizen as a travel document of their identity such as name, date of birth, sex, and place of birth and Nationality by the Consular Passport and Visa (CPV) Division, which comes under the Ministry of External Affairs. The Passport is issued under the Passports Act, 1967 and can be issued from more than 37 RPO’s/PO’s across India and over 170 Indian missions abroad.

Types of Indian Passport

Do you know, there are three types of Indian Passport, which are listed below with the reason and color.

  1. Regular Passport

Regular Passport has a Navy Blue cover and is issued for ordinary travel, such as vacations and business trips. The common man of India is issued the blue-colored passport. This helps the custom, immigration officials and other authorities abroad distinguish between the common man and government officials of India holding high ranks.

  1. Diplomatic Passport

Diplomatic Passport has a Maroon cover and is issued to Indian diplomats, top ranking government officials and diplomatic couriers. A maroon passport is issued to Indian diplomats and senior government officials. For a high quality passport, a separate application has to be filed. Such passport holders become eligible for several benefits during foreign tours. In addition, they do not need a visa for flying abroad. Also, maroon passport holders are able to clear immigration formalities much faster than regular people.

  1. Official Passport

Official Passport has a White cover and it is issued to individuals representing the Indian government on official business. Of the different types of passport, the white passport is the most powerful one. Government officials are the eligible recipients of white passport. It is issued to persons travelling abroad for official work. The white passport makes it easy for the custom and immigration officials to identify the holder as a government official and give due treatment.

What is Orange Color Passport in India?

The Indian Government has announced its decision to introduce the orange passport for a majority section of the population. It is meant to identify a person that has not studied beyond class 10. People who are not educationally qualified fall under ECR (immigration check required) category. It means that every time a person in this category wants to fly abroad, he/she is required to clear the criteria laid down by the immigration officials.

After comprehensive discussions with the various stakeholders, the MEA has decided to continue with the current practice of printing of the last page of the passport and not to issue a separate passport with orange colour jacket to ECR passport holders, the statement further added.

Be Aware of Fake Passport Websites

Alert on Fake Websites Related to Passport Service in India
Alert on Fake Websites Related to Passport Service in India

It can be difficult to spot a fake, fraudulent or scam website. Fraudsters are extremely cunning and good at creating convincing websites. Scammers are getting increasingly sophisticated in their attempts to get your money or personal details. Here is an official website of India passport, http://www.passportindia.gov.in

One Reply to “Types of Passport in India with Color”

Comments are closed.